Dinah Washington – Original Queen Of Soul

Dinah Washington
GENRE: , ,
FORMAT: Audio CD - 3 Disc
Release date: 17 Nov 2014

"...an impeccably compiled 3CD anthology spanning three decades..." Record Collector

"...a wonderful set...spanning Dinah's entire and hugely influential career..." Soul & Jazz & Funk

4/5 Soul Bag

"Superb" ABS Magazine

"A perfect, career-encompassing tribute" Music Week

'A rewarding retrospective' Glitterhouse Records

CAT No: FVTD210UPC TEXT: 5055311002101

Full details

Three Decades Of Artistry

“I don’t really do any Dinah songs because she made them her own, it’s a bit like covering Aretha Franklin, it’s a bit like slitting your own throat, what’s the point?”

“She could do a jazz song and make it her own and then when she went back to what she knew, the blues, she could kill people, kill people!”

Amy Winehouse (2006 BBC)

Dinah Washington was arguably the first Queen of Soul, having gained herself the soubriquet ‘The Queen’ in music circles of the early 1950s through the volume of hit records and performance notices achieved in the first decade of her career. She rose from the clubs and bars of Southside Chicago in the mid-1940s to enjoy a wealth of hit singles – some 40 reaching the Billboard R&B charts through the 1950s as Mercury Records reaped the value of her talent with almost as many albums.

It wasn’t until 1959 that Dinah scored her first major Hot 100 hit, with ‘What A Diff’rence A Day Makes’, a turning point which also brought about hit duets with label-mate Brook Benton. With the new decade came a move to Roulette Records, where producer Henry Glover, as well as recording her on classy ballads and standards, invigorated her sound, turning back to the blues, whilst remaining at the forefront of the emergent soul market. Just as her career was about to reach new heights, galvanised by a new and diverse style, on the evening of December 14, 1963, Dinah took several sleeping pills after a heavy drinking session and didn’t make it to the next morning.

Soul music writer and broadcaster Clive Richardson presents Original Queen of Soul, an overview of the recording career of Dinah Washington, which also serves to commemorate the 50th anniversary of her death. The 80 tracks include hard-to-find club-blues recordings from the 1940s, album tracks and singles in a range of styles and moods from the 1950s, and a selection of her later work under the guidance of Henry Glover from the early 1960s.

The 3CD set features many of her hits including ‘Baby Get Lost’ (R&B #1 1949), ‘Cold, Cold Heart’ (R&B #3 1951), ‘I Don’t Hurt Anymore’ (R&B #3 1954), ‘What A Diff’rence A Day Makes’ (R&B #4, Pop #8 1959), ‘Baby (You’ve Got What It Takes)’ (R&B #1, Pop #5 1960), ‘A Rockin’ Good Way’ (R&B #1, Pop #7 1960) and ‘September In The Rain’ (R&B #5, Pop #23 1961). Among the eminent bandleaders and arrangers collaborating with her are Lionel Hampton, Lucky Thompson, Cootie Williams, Jimmy Cobb, Hal Mooney and Quincy Jones.

‘What A Diff’rence A Day Makes’ was nominated the Best Rhythm & Blues Performance at the Grammy awards in 1959, and posthumously she has been inducted into the Blues Hall of Fame and the Rock & Roll Hall of Fame (as an early influence). Her celebrated version of ‘Mad About The Boy’ was a UK hit following its use in a Levi’s commercial in 1992. Accompanied by an illustrated 20pp booklet annotated by Clive, Original Queen of Soul is a fitting tribute to the talent and career of the first Queen of Soul.



  1. Evil Gal Blues
  2. No Love, No Nothin’
  3. Shoo Baby
  4. Million Dollar Smile
  5. And Her Tears Flowed Like Wine
  6. All Or Nothing
  7. Blues For A Day
  8. Chewin’ Woman Blues
  9. Mellow Mama Blues
  10. Salty Papa Blues
  11. Wise Woman Blues
  12. When A Woman Loves A Man
  13. I Want To Cry
  14. I’ll Wait
  15. It’s Too Soon To Know
  16. Mean And Evil Blues
  17. Record Ban Blues
  18. Resolution Blues
  19. Walkin’ And Talkin’ (And Crying My Blues Away)
  20. West Side Baby
  21. You Satisfy
  22. Am I Really Sorry
  23. Baby Get Lost
  24. Good Daddy Blues
  25. I Only Know
  26. It Isn’t Fair
  27. Big Deal
  28. I’ll Never Be Free


  1. Cold, Cold Heart
  2. If You Don't Believe I’m Leaving (Count The Days I’m Gone)
  3. Trouble In Mind
  4. Double Dealing Daddy
  5. Half As Much
  6. I Cried For You
  7. Mad About The Boy
  8. My Song
  9. New Blowtop Blues
  10. Pillow Blues
  11. Feel Like I Wanna Cry
  12. (No, No, No) You Can’t Love Two
  13. Big Long Slidin’ Thing
  14. Dream
  15. Goodbye
  16. I Could Have Told You
  17. More Than You Know
  18. You Don’t Know What Love Is
  19. I’ll Close My Eyes [EmArcy recording]
  20. My Ideal
  21. Tears To Burn
  22. They Didn’t Believe Me
  23. You Let My Love Get Cold
  24. You’re Crying
  25. Make Me A Present Of You


  1. Everybody Loves My Baby
  2. After You’ve Gone
  3. Backwater Blues
  4. Careless Love
  5. Fine Fat Daddy
  6. Me And My Gin
  7. Trombone Butter
  8. What A Diff’rence A Day Makes
  9. Unforgettable
  10. Baby (You’ve Got What It Takes) [with Brook Benton]
  11. Daybreak
  12. Forgotten
  13. Good Morning, Heartache
  14. Harbor Lights
  15. I’ll Never Kiss You Goodbye
  16. A Rockin’ Good Way (To Mess Around and Fall in Love) [with Brook Benton)]
  17. September In The Rain
  18. Tell Love Hello
  19. I Don’t Hurt Anymore
  20. Softly (Baby)
  21. Red Sails In The Sunset
  22. Coquette
  23. I’ll Close My Eyes [Roulette recording]
  24. Do Nothin’ Till You Hear From Me
  25. That’s My Desire
  26. Say It Isn’t So
  27. It’s A Mean Old Man’s World