Have You Seen My Baby? Ember Sixties Pop Vol. 4 1964-1966

Various Artists
FORMAT: Audio CD - 1 Disc
Release date: 13 Sep 2010

CAT No: FVCD068UPC TEXT: 5055311000688

Full details

The celebration of the Sixties Pop side of Ember Records continues with the years 1964 to 1966. Have You Seen My Baby? is the fourth instalment of the series following on from Hello My Angel: Ember Sixties Pop Volume 3 (FVCD042).

As well as singles, the label started releasing pop albums in this period and we have concentrated on selections from three fine LPs. The WASHINGTON DC’S gained their only album appearance by supplementing the two sides that the Dave Clark Five had cut for Ember. The LP was titled Dave Clark Five And The Washington DC’s, issued in August 1965. Although Dave Clark has since wisely scooped up his own back catalogue, six excellent performances by the Washington DC’s are reissued here for the first time. RAY SINGER’s January 1966 long-player For Those In Love gathered up five sides from his first three 45s. The third single I’m The Richest Man Alive / Pretty Little Ramblin’ Rose is included here together with four album-only tracks and Over The Weekend from a 1964 EP. A notable bonus is Ray’s previously unreleased version of The Girl Can’t Help It. The very next Ember album issued after Ray Singer was MARCUS TRO’s Introducing Marcus Tro. Six LP-only tracks, two of which showcase Marcus’s songwriting talents, get their first digital release on this compilation. CHAD & JEREMY continued their hit run in America and two of their biggest Willow Weep For Me and If I Loved You are represented in their mono single format. GRANT TRACY had recorded the Mark Wirtz written and produced numbers on this CD for Ember in 1965 but they were not issued at the time.

The original albums are highly collectable (mint copies of Washington DC’s are valued at £30, and both Ray Singer and Marcus Tro at £40 each). Subsequent volumes will carry the story through to the end of the sixties, with further sought-after tracks included. The series is complemented by compilations devoted to beat and rock from the Ember vaults. Recordings are mastered from tape, where available, and booklets illustrated with sleeve and label shots.



  1. Have You Seen My Baby? (The Washington DC's)
  2. Is It Me? (The Washington DC's)
  3. Bye Bye Jeannie (Grant Tracy)
  4. 4 Lips, 2 Hearts, 1 Love (Grant Tracy)
  5. I'm The Richest Man Alive (Ray Singer)
  6. Pretty Little Ramblin' Rose (Ray Singer)
  7. We Can Make It, Baby (Marcus Tro)
  8. Tonight (Marcus Tro)
  9. If I Loved You (Chad & Jeremy)
  10. No Tears For Johnny (Chad & Jeremy)
  11. Shimmy Shimmy (The Washington DC's)
  12. Sweet Little Rock 'n' Roller (The Washington DC's)
  13. Stargazin' (Ray Singer)
  14. Little Words (Ray Singer)
  15. Funny (Marcus Tro)
  16. Corina, Corina (Marcus Tro)
  17. Yakety Yak (The Washington DC's)
  18. Carol (The Washington DC's)
  19. She's Not You (Ray Singer)
  20. Don't Cross Over To My Side Of The Street (Ray Singer)
  21. Donna, Donna (Marcus Tro)
  22. Never Let Me Go (Marcus Tro)
  23. Willow Weep For Me (Chad & Jeremy)
  24. Over The Weekend (Ray Singer)
  25. The Girl Can't Help It (Ray Singer)