Here I Am

Mickey Stevenson
FORMAT: Audio CD - 1 Disc
Release date: 4 May 2009


"A wonderfully diverse set of beautifully orchestrated country soul songs" 4/5  RECORD COLLECTOR

CAT No: FVCD009UPC TEXT: 5055311000091

Full details

As a songwriter and producer William “Mickey” Stevenson was one of the driving forces behind the extraordinary success of the Motown sound. He started out his career as a vocalist in various gospel and doo wop line-ups and hoped to join the company as a solo act but Berry Gordy decided his abilities were perfect to fill the requirement for the label’s first A&R director. He went on to recruit major stars such as Martha & The Vandellas. Mickey was also responsible for organising the company’s house band, the legendary Funk Brothers, which included the remarkable bassist James Jamerson and drummer Benny Benjamin. Among the many hits that he wrote and produced were Marvin Gaye’s first success “Stubborn Kind Of Fellow”, Martha & The Vandellas’ “Dancing In The Street” and the Four Tops’ “Ask The Lonely”. It was Stevenson’s idea to team up his wife Kim Weston with Marvin Gaye on the dance-floor favourite “It Takes Two”. Holland-Dozier-Holland wrote “Mickey’s Monkey” for the Miracles as a tribute to him.

In 1967 a desire to develop further led to an amicable parting of the ways with Motown, and Mickey, together with Kim, left to sign a lucrative deal with the MGM label. This was followed by a spell where he founded his own labels People and Mikim. Stevenson’s next major project in late 1971 was his re-establishment as a vocalist. Through a deal with Ember Records in London, he released two singles and an album. Since that time Mickey has penned a film score and also produced and written a series of theatrical musicals. He now runs an entertainment company, nurturing and representing new talent.

Here I Am combines two singles and an album recorded for British independent Ember. The tracks were recorded, probably in New York, late 1971 through 1972 with top-notch session players led by arranger Luchi DeJesus. Both the 45s and the original LP are now very collectable examples of crossover and seventies soul. This is the first time these recordings have been released on CD.



  1. Here I Am
  2. Joe Poor
  3. Trouble's A Loser
  4. Rocky Racoon
  5. Knock On Any Door
  6. Forty Days And Forty Nights
  7. Lonnie's Face
  8. Where's That Smile
  9. What Could Be Better
  10. Gonna Be Alright
  11. Stormy
  12. Salliey
  13. I Need You So
  14. I'm On My Way Back To You