I’m Yours

P J Proby
FORMAT: Audio CD - 1 Disc
Release date: 2 Oct 2009

"In praise of the velvet foghorn, what a titan"  4/5 RECORD COLLECTOR

"A classic of it's genre"  UNCUT

"Picks include a couple of show tunes along with arresting covers, a couple of R&B Classics and the intimately epic title song"  SHINDIG


CAT No: FVCD032UPC TEXT: 5055311000329

Full details

By November 1973, when British indie label Ember issued I’m Yours, Proby had not released a selection of new material for over four years. The album provides ample illustration of the diversity of his repertoire and his remarkable vocal mannerisms. I’m Yours had been trailered by a single, a revival of Paul Anka’s Put Your Head On My Shoulder, coupled with Momma Married A Preacher, a fine new song in a similar vein to Son Of A Preacher Man.

Proby interprets two show tunes on the album, They Call The Wind Maria (Paint Your Wagon) and If I Loved You (Carousel), which Proby had first recorded back in 1965. Proby also tackles two songs which had been chart-toppers for the Platters, Twilight Time and Only You, while the album’s title track had been a hit for both Eddie Fisher and Don Cornell. Draw Me A Circle had appeared on Barbra Streisand’s The Third Album. Originally a hit for Al Martino, Mary In The Morning has been recorded by a host of artists since, and the song has been broadcast more than a million times in the USA.

Stay A While had been recorded by Dickie Valentine, while Ecstasy and Where had both been cut for Ember already, by Steve Cassidy and Vic Damone respectively. New song Sunday Goodbye provides Proby with an opportunity to rock out.



  1. They Call The Wind Maria (P J Proby)
  2. Draw Me A Circle (P J Proby)
  3. Momma Married A Preacher [aka Mama Married A Preacher] (P J Proby)
  4. Mary In The Morning (P J Proby)
  5. If I Loved You (P J Proby)
  6. Put Your Head On My Shoulder (P J Proby)
  7. Twilight Time (P J Proby)
  8. Ecstasy (P J Proby)
  9. Only You (And You Alone) (P J Proby)
  10. Sunday Goodbye (P J Proby)
  11. Where (P J Proby)
  12. Stay A While (P J Proby)
  13. I'm Yours (P J Proby)