Ridin’ High: The Complete Record Releases 1957-1959

Peggy Lee
GENRE: , ,
FORMAT: Audio CD - 3 Disc
Release date: 8 Feb 2010

This gorgeous 3 CD set compiles Lee's first five albums following her return to capitol in 1957. As a bonus, there's also an unreleased 22 minute interview with Lee to round off a perfect supper club performance - 4/5 RECORD COLLECTOR

CAT No: FVTD043UPC TEXT: 5055311000435

Full details

Peggy Lee’s 1957 return to Capitol, the label she considered her “home”, followed four highly successful years on the US Decca label where she’d been given full artistic freedom – which Capitol had initially denied her. But Capitol had learned their lesson, and Peggy’s triumphant return on her own terms bore stunning fruit over the next two years including the Sinatra-supervised The Man I Love LP, the smash-hit Beauty And The Beat LP with George Shearing, and nine sides which made the US singles chart including “Fever”, “Hallelujah I Love Him So” and “All Right, OK, You Win”.

RIDIN’ HIGH contains all her record releases during that monumentally fruitful three years, a total of five albums (The Man I Love, Jump For Joy, Things Are Swingin’, I Like Men! and Beauty And The Beat) and seven singles. Here also is a previously unreleased 20-minute interview with Peggy, where she candidly discusses her music, her career, and her life. Born in 1920, Peggy Lee first came to prominence with The Benny Goodman Orchestra from 1941 to 1943, by which time she was ranking second only to Jo Stafford in popularity as a female vocalist within a band. She left the Goodman orchestra in March 1943, shortly after wedding the band’s former guitarist Dave Barbour. After starting a family, Lee returned to the studio in 1944 to start an association with the new label Capitol (backed chiefly by her husband’s band until 1950).

In 1952 she was wooed over to Decca for an extremely successful five-year period which yielded 10 top 30 singles, including Lover and Mr Wonderful, and the highly-regarded album Black Coffee. Lee returned to Capitol in 1957, remaining there for 15 years, last charting with “Is That All There Is” in 1969. Her final studio session took place in 1995, by which time she had garnered many awards including ASCAP’s Pied Piper Award for Lifetime Achievement, a Songwriters’ Guild of America President Award, a Grammy Lifetime Achievement Award and two honorary doctorates. She died in 2002.



  1. The Man I Love (Peggy Lee)
  2. Please Be Kind (Peggy Lee)
  3. Happiness Is A Thing Called Joe (Peggy Lee)
  4. Just One Way To Say I Love You (Peggy Lee)
  5. That’s All (Peggy Lee)
  6. Something Wonderful (Peggy Lee)
  7. He’s My Guy (Peggy Lee)
  8. Then I’ll Be Tired Of You (Peggy Lee)
  9. My Heart Stood Still (Peggy Lee)
  10. If I Should Lose You (Peggy Lee)
  11. There Is No Greater Love (Peggy Lee)
  12. The Folks Who Live On The Hill (Peggy Lee)
  13. Jump For Joy (Peggy Lee)
  14. Back In Your Own Back Yard (Peggy Lee)
  15. When My Sugar Walks Down The Street (Peggy Lee)
  16. I Hear Music (Peggy Lee)
  17. Just In Time (Peggy Lee)
  18. Old Devil Moon (Peggy Lee)
  19. What A Little Moonlight Can Do (Peggy Lee)
  20. Four Or Five Times (Peggy Lee)
  21. Music! Music! Music! (Peggy Lee)
  22. Cheek To Cheek (Peggy Lee)
  23. The Glory Of Love (Peggy Lee)
  24. Ain’t We Got Fun (Peggy Lee)


  1. It’s A Wonderful World (Peggy Lee)
  2. Things Are Swingin’ (Peggy Lee)
  3. Alright, OK, You Win (Peggy Lee)
  4. Ridin’ High (Peggy Lee)
  5. It’s Been A Long, Long Time (Peggy Lee)
  6. Lullaby In Rhythm (Peggy Lee)
  7. Alone Together (Peggy Lee)
  8. I’m Beginning To See The Light (Peggy Lee)
  9. It’s A Good, Good Night (Peggy Lee)
  10. You’re Getting To Be A Habit With Me (Peggy Lee)
  11. You’re Mine, You (Peggy Lee)
  12. Life Is For Livin’ (Peggy Lee)
  13. Charley, My Boy (Peggy Lee)
  14. Good-For-Nothin' Joe (Peggy Lee)
  15. I Love To Love (Peggy Lee)
  16. When A Woman Loves A Man (Peggy Lee)
  17. I Like Men! (Peggy Lee)
  18. I’m Just Wild About Harry (Peggy Lee)
  19. My Man (Peggy Lee)
  20. Bill (Peggy Lee)
  21. So In Love (Peggy Lee)
  22. Jim (Peggy Lee)
  23. It’s So Nice To Have A Man Around The House (Peggy Lee)
  24. Oh Johnny, Oh Johnny Oh! (Peggy Lee)
  25. Every Night (Peggy Lee)
  26. Baby, Baby, Wait For Me (Peggy Lee)
  27. Listen To The Rocking Bird (Peggy Lee)
  28. Uninvited Dream (Peggy Lee)
  29. Fever [mono] (Peggy Lee)
  30. You Don’t Know (Peggy Lee)
  31. Sweetheart (Peggy Lee)
  32. Light Of Love (Peggy Lee)


  1. Do I Love You? (Peggy Lee)
  2. I Lost My Sugar In Salt Lake City (Peggy Lee with George Shearing)
  3. If Dreams Come True (Peggy Lee with George Shearing)
  4. All Too Soon (Peggy Lee with George Shearing)
  5. Mambo In Miami (Peggy Lee with George Shearing)
  6. Isn’t It Romantic (George Shearing)
  7. Blue Prelude (George Shearing)
  8. You Came A Long Way From St Louis (Peggy Lee with George Shearing)
  9. Always True To You In My Fashion (Peggy Lee with George Shearing)
  10. There’ll Be Another Spring (Peggy Lee with George Shearing)
  11. Get Out Of Town (Peggy Lee with George Shearing)
  12. Satin Doll (Peggy Lee with George Shearing)
  13. Hallelujah, I Love Him So (George Shearing)
  14. I’m Looking Out The Window (Peggy Lee)
  15. You Deserve (Peggy Lee)
  16. Where Do I Go From Here? (Peggy Lee)
  17. The Tree (Peggy Lee)
  18. The Christmas List (Peggy Lee)
  19. Fever [stereo] (Peggy Lee)
  20. Interview Part 1 (Peggy Lee)
  21. Interview Part 2 (Peggy Lee)