The Definitive Collection 1934-1944

Ina Ray Hutton
FORMAT: Audio CD - 3 Disc
Release date: 23 May 2011


"A lively, swinging and teasingly sexual delivery from Hutton, combining energy with glamour...this remastered collection is a real find for swing fans."  5/5  RECORD COLLECTOR


CAT No: FVTD110UPC TEXT: 5055311001104

Full details

Nicknamed “The Blonde Bombshell of Rhythm,” Ina Ray Hutton was a true American original who pre-dated Lana and Marilyn and gave more gam than Lombard or Grable. Raised in Chicago by show business parents, she was performing professionally by the ripe old age of 8, and by 18 was starring on Broadway in a featured role in The Ziegfeld Follies of 1934.

The famed music publisher and manager Irving Mills built an all-girl band around her in 1934 and she was on her way. Under the moniker Ina Ray Hutton and Her Melodears, she and the band prospered with numerous tours, recordings and film appearances to become the most popular all-girl band of the era. A fine vocalist and dancer, Ina’s unique and memorable performing style blended leading the band with her baton while dancing quite provocatively, especially for the times.The first disc on this collection brings together all of the known studio recordings by Ina Ray Hutton and Her Melodears, many of which appear on CD for the very first time. Ina’s fine voice is showcased nicely on such songs as “Twenty-Four Hours in Georgia” and “Truckin’,” while the band proves they are far more than a novelty on hot instrumental numbers like the riotous “Jazznocracy” and the swinging “Witch Doctor.”

In late 1939, Ina assembled Ina Ray Hutton and Her Orchestra, an all-male band (besides its leader) that would become quite a force during the War Years. This band is prominently featured on the remaining discs of this collection. The second CD boasts fantastic Swing Era instrumentals like “Make Me Know It” and “Back in Your Own Backyard.” During the War Years, Ina’s vocal abilities truly blossomed and can be heard on delightful cuts such as “What’s the Good of Moonlight” and the World War II favorite “You Made Me Love You.”The devastatingly attractive Ina was wildly popular with the troops, for whom she performed regularly. The third CD on this collection consists of rare radio broadcasts where Ina Ray Hutton and Her Orchestra performed live for troops stationed at various military bases around the United States. These raw, seldom-heard recordings are historically significant and offer a rare glimpse of the times. The Hutton band’s male vocalist, Stuart Foster, is featured on a number of tracks heard here such as the beloved Cole Porter’s “You’d Be So Nice to Come Home to,” and even does a fine duet with Miss Hutton on the song “Angry.”

All in all, this comprehensive Ina Ray Hutton 3-disc collection is the most complete set ever released of this underappreciated and pioneering treasure. Digitally remastered, with complete sleeve notes and rare photos, this set is a must-have for fans and collectors alike.



  1. How's About Tomorrow Night?
  2. And I Still Do
  3. Georgia's Gorgeous Gal
  4. Wild Party
  5. Twenty-Four Hours in Georgia
  6. Witch Doctor
  7. Hobo on Park Avenue
  8. Truckin'
  9. Devil's Kitchen
  10. Earthquake
  11. I'm a Hundred Percent for You
  12. Jazznocracy
  13. Organ Grinders Swing Overture
  14. Medley: Stardust / Organ Grinder’s Swing
  15. Doin' the Suzie-Q
  16. The Melodears Swing


  1. Five O’Clock Whistle
  2. Make Me Know It
  3. A Handful of Stars
  4. Gotta Have Your Love
  5. What's the Good of Moonlight
  6. At Last
  7. Nobody's Sweetheart
  8. Back in Your Own Backyard
  9. Madelaine
  10. A Sinner Kissed an Angel
  11. Ev’rything I Love
  12. You Made Me Love You
  13. Don’t Tetch It
  14. Was It Worth It?


  1. Hallelujah
  2. Cabin in the Sky
  3. You'd Be So Nice to Come Home to
  4. Angry
  5. Way Down Upon the Swanee River (Old Folks at Home)
  6. Georgia on My Mind
  7. Johnny Zero
  8. Remember
  9. It Can't Be Wrong
  10. Blue Skies
  11. That Old Black Magic
  12. In My Arms
  13. Star Eyes
  14. King Porter Stomp
  15. Rose Room
  16. Tess' Torch Song (I Had a Man)
  17. Besame Mucho
  18. Ring Dem Bells
  19. King Porter Stomp
  20. All of Me
  21. Blue Moon
  22. Milkman, Keep Those Bottles Quiet
  23. Take It Easy