The First Three Albums: The Chirping Crickets/Buddy Holly/That’ll Be The Day

Buddy Holly & The Crickets
FORMAT: Audio CD - 1 Disc
Release date: 23 Feb 2009


4/5  MOJO



CAT No: FVCD004UPC TEXT: 5055311000046

Full details

A truly legendary, iconic figure, immortalised forever in Don McLean’s American Pie, Buddy Holly was arguably the most important and influential musician to emerge from the rock ’n’ roll era. The genre’s very first singer-songwriter, and a powerful and rhythmic guitarist, his songwriting influenced everyone from Bob Dylan to The Beatles, whilst The Crickets laid down the blueprint for all subsequent generations of guitar/bass/drums-structured rock/beat/R&B/punk groups. Holly was further unique in that he enjoyed two concurrent chart careers, both as lead singer of The Crickets and under his own name, although both identities featured the same set of musicians often recorded at the same sessions. Sadly, it all ended abruptly in January 1959, when he was killed in a plane crash, along with fellow-rockers Ritchie Valens and The Big Bopper.

His hitmaking career had lasted just 18 months, following That’ll Be The Day’s US chart debut in August ’57. Buddy was particularly popular in the UK and Europe, where he continued registering posthumous hits well into the 60s. His songs continue to be revived to this day and he rightly remains a revered artist. The 35 historic tracks that make up this compilation were all recorded in a highly-prolific two-year burst of creativity, between January 1956 and January 1958, by which time both Buddy Holly and The Crickets were established as major chart names. “The Chirping Crickets” LP included The Crickets’ million-selling singles That’ll Be The Day and Oh Boy, whilst Holly’s eponymously-titled album included his equally successful ‘solo’ hits, Peggy Sue and Rave On.

This compilation also features the eleven tracks which Buddy recorded for US Decca in 1956, including his original, slower version of the stellar That’ll Be The Day, under which title they were first released in 1958. The booklet features full session details, including personnel, recording dates, etc.



  1. Oh, Boy!
  2. Not Fade Away
  3. You’ve Got Love
  4. Maybe Baby
  5. It’s Too Late
  6. Tell Me How
  7. That’ll Be The Day
  8. I’m Lookin' For Someone To Love
  9. An Empty Cup (And A Broken Date)
  10. Send Me Some Lovin’
  11. Last Night
  12. Rock Me My Baby
  13. I’m Gonna Love You Too
  14. Peggy Sue
  15. Look At Me
  16. Listen To Me
  17. Valley Of Tears
  18. Ready Teddy
  19. Everyday
  20. Mailman, Bring Me No More Blues
  21. Words Of Love
  22. You’re So Square
  23. Rave On
  24. Little Baby
  25. You Are My One Desire
  26. Blue Days, Black Nights
  27. Modern Don Juan
  28. Rock Around With Ollie Vee
  29. Ting-A-Ling
  30. Girl On My Mind
  31. That’ll Be The Day
  32. Love Me
  33. I’m Changin’ All Those Changes
  34. Don’t Come Back Knockin’
  35. Midnight Shift
  36. Rock Around With Ollie Vee