Waiting For A Song

Denny Doherty
FORMAT: Audio CD - 1 Disc
Release date: 23 May 2011


CAT No: FVCD109UPC TEXT: 5055311001098

Full details

Waiting For A Song, the 1974 solo album by former member of the Mamas and the Papas Denny Doherty, was only released in the UK and the singer’s native Canada. Fantastic Voyage has remastered the album from the original tapes and retained the original UK sleeve artwork. The album spans the sunshine pop/harmony vocal sounds of the Sixties (check out Together), country/soft rock (Southern Comfort) and the singer/songwriter sound prevalent in the Seventies.

Doherty tackles songs by such notable writers as Gary Osborne (lyricist for Jeff Wayne’s The War Of The Worlds project and occasional collaborator with Elton John), the Addrisi Brothers (of “Never My Love” fame), and music duos England Dan & John Ford Coley and Hall & Oates. He also tackles “You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’”, while a Forties standard by Harry Warren & Mack Gordon gave him a US Easy Listening Top 20 hit. Much in evidence are the harmony vocals of his former bandmates “Mama” Cass Elliott and Michelle Phillips. In a new essay, journalist and BBC broadcaster Spencer Leigh recounts Doherty’s early years, the story of the Mamas and the Papas, and the singer’s subsequent career.



  1. Simone (Denny Doherty)
  2. Children Of My Mind (Denny Doherty)
  3. You’ll Never Know (Denny Doherty)
  4. Together (Denny Doherty)
  5. It Can Only Happen In America (Denny Doherty)
  6. Southern Comfort (Denny Doherty)
  7. You’ve Lost That Lovin’ Feelin’ (Denny Doherty)
  8. Goodnight And Good Morning (Denny Doherty)
  9. Lay Me Down (Roll Me Out To Sea) (Denny Doherty)
  10. Give Me Back That Old Familiar Feeling (Denny Doherty)
  11. I’m Home Again (Denny Doherty)